Savannah, GA and Port Royal, SC

Jeremy and I reluctantly left Tybee Island today.  It is really sad when vacations come to an end. I could have seriously lived in that area the rest of my life and been happy.  Something about being by the beach calms your soul.  We did run back by the Tybee Island lighthouse in hopes of climbing it. Unfortunately, it is closed on Tuesdays.  You can still drive up near the light house and take pictures though. I learned to always check open and close times for places when I travel. Often, I assume somewhere will be open but I can tell that small shops often have different hours. The Art & Coffee bar on Tybee Island is closed on Mondays.

Before leaving, we got ANOTHER coffee from the Art & Coffee Bar and stoped by Fort Pulaski.  This is a Civil War monument that has ranger tours, canons, ability to roam around stone fort, and beautiful views. This fort is PET FRIENDLY. It is $7 a person. I’m unsure if there is a children’s rate or if they are free. I’m sure you can get a pass if you go often.  You can’t bring your dog inside the visitor center but as long as they are on a leash (6 foot maximum), they can walk around the grounds with you. Our cocker spaniel, Charlie, and chihuahua, Daisy, accompanied with us to look at the cannons. Daisy did well climbing down the stone stairs. She did several by herself which I was proud of her for! I got some good pictures of everyone! The downside is that it did start raining while we were there.

After leaving there, we headed to Savannah, GA go see my granddad. I try not to think about the fact that he is 88 years old. At heart, he continues to be one of the most active people I know. I’m SO thankful for him. He has always supportive every direction I have ever tried to go in life. Granddaddy does not like change though. His house has been the shelter for three generations. He takes a walk every day and goes to one Chinese restaurant down the road. Today, we went there and it was delicious.

granddaddyandi

On the way home, we drove through a place called Port Royal. The town was really adorable. It had a small coffee shop, cute restaurants, and a little beach full of oysters. We enjoyed driving through, walking around, and photographing this area.

One last place I saw while headed to Charleston, SC that is worth mentioning is TLC Ministries thrift store. I saw it out of the corner of my eye. My boyfriend LOVES to thrift shop so we definitely did a u-turn haha. One thing I noticed about this shop is that nothing had price tags on it. You had to ask what they would charge. I found a glass cat that had a stethoscope around its neck.  I asked the price and the man said $1. ah! Sweet! Everyone in there was very nice. We walked out of there with the cat, a mini mason jar, and an American Flag fanny pack (boyfriends unique find) for $4. We were happy. The address for this place is below:

1351 Ribaut Rd,

Port Royal, SC 29935

  • Mon: 10am-6pm
  • Tue: 10am-6pm
  • Wed: 10am-6pm
  • Thu: 10am-6pm
  • Fri: 10am-6pm
  • Sat: 10am-6pm

I can’t wait to travel again. I got some GREAT pictures of the places above but I need to edit some. I will add them in as soon as I do that. Thank you for following my adventures!

Heres to 2017 being AMAZING !

Leave a Reply

